USGS Banner

Recipients of the 2006 John Wesley Powell Award

Two current and two retired members of the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Office of Water Resources (IDNR-OWR) are the recipients of the 2006 John Wesley Powell Award. Gary R. Clark, Director; Donald R. Vonnahme, Director (Retired); Arlan R. Juhl, Chief of Planning Section; and Melvin Allison, Chief of Planning Section (Retired) were presented the award at the USGS Headquarters Awards Ceremony in Reston, Virginia, on November 9, 2006.

The John Wesley Powell Award is a USGS honor award that recognizes an individual or group, not employed by the Federal Government, whose contributions to the USGS objectives and mission are noteworthy. The first award was given in 1971 and was named for the distinguished scientist and explorer who served as the second director of the USGS from 1881 to 1894, and who made the pioneer exploration of the Colorado River. View a list of past recipients (1971-2006).

These four gentlemen were given the award based on their longstanding support of the USGS Illinois Water Science Center streamgaging, data dissemination program and research programs. These four gentlemen have been tireless advocates of the streamgaging program and were instrumental in establishing Illinois as the first predominately real-time streamflow gaging networks in the United States in the 1980s.

Image of John Wesley Powell Award recipients
Pictured from left to right: DONALD R. VONNAHME, IDNR-OWR Director (Retired); GARY P. JOHNSON, USGS Illinois Water Science Center Hydrologic Data Collection and Analysis Section Chief; GARY R. CLARK, IDNR-OWR Director; MARK MYERS, USGS Director; MELVIN ALLISON, IDNR-OWR Planning Section Chief (Retired); ARLAN R. JUHL, IDNR-OWR Planning Section Chief; ROBERT M. HIRSCH, USGS Associate Director for Water; ROBERT R. HOLMES, JR., USGS Illinois Water Science Center Director.

Illinois Home Who are we? MIGHTI Programs Data Publications Education

The URL for this page is
For comments, suggestions, or assistance, please email
Privacy Statement || Disclaimer || Accessibility